Friday, February 17, 2006

Election Filing So Far

News Reporter

The first three days of filing for political office have produced few surprises. Some candidates who have already announced have yet to file with the Board of Elections.

In keeping with local tradition, seven-term incumbent state Rep. Dewey Hill was the first to file. Hill, a Democrat, is running for the 20th District House seat that includes all of Columbus and parts of rural western Brunswick county.

While no one has yet filed against Hill, he said he expects both Democrat and Republican opponents.

State Sen. R.C. Soles Jr. filed for the District 8 Senatorial seat, as did Shirley Babson, a Brunswick County Republican. Fair Bluff resident T.S. Enzor briefly filed to run in the Democratic primary against Soles but withdrew the next day.

Two county commissioners filed for re-election – District 7 incumbent David Dutton and Amon McKenzie, who represents District 1.

Nakina resident Ronald Gore will face Dutton in a primary challenge. No one has filed to challenge McKenzie.

The winner of the District 7 primary will face Republican Sammy Hinson in November.

In District 6, where commissioner Kip Godwin has announced he won’t run for re-election, James “Ricky” Bullard signed up to run. David Lee McPherson has announced his intentions to run but has not yet filed.

The winner of the Bullard-McPherson race will face Fair Bluff farmer Howell Strickland in November. Strickland is running as an independent.

Sheriff Chris Batten, Clerk of Court Sheila Pridgen and Coroner Linwood Cartrette have all signed up to run for re-election and are so far unopposed.

Filing continues through noon on Feb. 28.

posted by David at 2:01 PM :: Permalink ::

Comments on "Election Filing So Far"


post a comment